My SE Journey with ALX - WEEK 4

4 WEEKS UPDATE

ยท

3 min read

It's been exactly one month since I embarked on my software engineering journey with ALX and let me just say this... WOW!

I know I said this before, but permit me to say it again, this program is A LOT.

It's been enlightening, and although thus far I haven't found any bit of the curriculum particularly difficult, thanks to my previous knowledge, it is still extremely time-consuming.

It takes me about 3-4 hours to go through the daily assignments, and further reading on the topic adds at least an extra hour. I'm not complaining though, I love the feeling of learning and improvement. The end goal is a good enough motivation for me!

Curriculum Covered...

So far in the program, we've covered a range of topics, some of which include:

  • Git & GitHub

  • Navigating the Linux Shells

  • Working with text editors such as Emacs and Vi/Vim

  • Shell Scripting

  • C Programing Language (currently)

  • Growth mindset and Grit (Soft skills)

  • Professional relationships (Soft skills)

I see these as fundamental topics in any SE's day-to-day life (except C maybe, depending on the specialization). Topics that are also commonly neglected in most developer boot camps. Our learning has been split into different aspects of software engineering, and I believe as the months pass we would build more on those aspects. Two of such learning categories include Systems & DevOps engineering and Low-level programming.

To say I'm excited is a sorry understatement. Despite the challenge, I'm ecstatic to keep going.

The right amount of grit and motivation is honestly all anyone needs to get through this program. I'm hoping with everything in me that I have the just right amount and maybe a bit more.

What has really helped me pull through...

Over the weeks, certain practices have helped me better understand the material and ace the assignments. Here they are

  • Going over as much of the materials provided as possible

  • Further research (YouTube, GeekforGeeks, official documentation)

  • Explaining to a peer

  • Practice, Practice Practice!

I'm a very hands-on learner. Due to this, I always need to get my hands dirty to fully grasp the material. Teaching an invisible group also helps me a lot! A method I carried right from secondary school and it hasn't completely failed me just yet.

Some difficulties I experienced...

I am the most anti-social person I know to have ever walked the face of the earth. I am not even exaggerating here.

My extreme social awkwardness and introversion could be seen as my Achilles heel. To avoid a similar unfortunate ending on my part, I'm actively trying to master social interaction.

It's not easy and certain situations make me want to crawl back into my hole and never come out. The ALX program is a fine example of such situation.

A core concept of ALX is peer learning and collaboration. We even have a day dedicated solely to peer learning and discussions.

This would be a good time for my confession. Although I mentioned previously that explaining to a peer helped me understand the material, that's as far as I went. And this was because the person in question sent me a DM.

I haven't actively participated in a single Peer Learning Day since the commencement of this program. I know this is bad. I plan to change this, really I do.

I have a few assignments for myself for the next four weeks of this program to help me...

  • Speak out on the student group

  • Join a Peer Learning Group every week

  • Utter at least a sentence in every peer learning session I join

Doesn't seem like much, but I'm sweating just thinking about it. Wish me luck!

To put everything in a single word, GROWTH. That's all I aim for at this phase of my life and ALX engulfs me in that feeling of mental and career growth.

Till my next check-in, stay safe and keep doing hard things. ๐Ÿ’ซ

ย